Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Why I Write

As I’m toiling over complex and obscure punctuation rules, which I often still get confused, I occasionally ask myself, why do I write? The long hours sequestered in my office, hunched over my keyboard until my eyes blur and my muscles ache, writing about outlandish and dangerous exploits when I could be outside having real adventures doesn’t always seem to make sense. Then I think about the many stories I’ve read which have plunged me into remarkable situations and taken me on far-flung journeys around the world. Sometimes I can’t start another book for days, not wanting the sensation of discovery or the adrenaline rush gained from surviving against the odds to ebb. I want to share those feelings of exploration and conquest with others. I want to entertain, provide an enjoyable and interesting way to pass a little free time, and help readers escape to someplace new and unique. If when finished with one of my books the reader feels as if they’ve just returned home from a perilous adventure, then I’ve achieved my goal.

I truly hope you enjoy my adventures and romantic (PG) suspense.

Friday, May 22, 2015

Adventure Inspirations – Purpose of Life

To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer, to find each other, and to feel. That is the purpose of life.”

-Life Magazine’s Motto

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

For Fans of Inspirational Romance and Christian Historical Fiction



Two new novels for fans of Inspirational Romance and Christian Historical Fiction have just been released by Prism Book Group. Read more below and click on each title to purchase through Amazon.


Renata tries escape her past and runs straight into . . . love.

Renata Blake has moved to the Milwaukee area to leave behind a painful past as a victim of abuse. She discovers a family like she’s never had before, at Orchard Hill Church and is drawn to handsome Packer fanatic, Antonio. After all she’s suffered through, could she ever trust a man again?
Antonio DeLuca has a full life with his family, church and his job as chef and manager at DeLuca’s Cucina. Having been betrayed in love, he is afraid to trust a woman again. How would he fit her into his already full life anyway? 
As circumstances draw them together and attempt to tear them apart, life becomes a combination of savory pesto and painful potholes as both Tony and Renata learn that with God’s help, and the support of a faith community, they can both learn to love again. 

And maybe fight a few ninjas along the way.
 


Lilli Clarke. They call her the marked girl. Beginning at her left shoulder, a pink birthmark tracks up her throat just past her jaw, like a finger pointing to her brain. Abandoned by her family, she is ostracized by everyone but her grandmother and cousin Bert. Six years of dust storms have left sixteen-year-old Lilli close to death with dust pneumonia. Now she must leave the only real home she’s ever had, or risk death when the next storm hits. 

Lilli is sent to her aunt and cousins in Florida to recover. The possibility of a different life presents itself, yet circumstances snatch it away, and she flees to New York City. Unable to find a safe place, she yearns for the storm ravaged home she left. All doors appear to be closed to her, and she resigns herself to the lonely fate of a marked girl. Once again, she is close to death, this time with no one to help her. Will this storm prevail, or is there a new answer for Lilli?

Saturday, May 16, 2015

Adventure Inspirations – Don’t Be Disappointed

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
- Mark Twain-


Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Acres of Dreams

I am pleased to introduce Sharon McGregor, a Canadian author who has recently transplanted to the west coast. She has written humor, romance and mystery for magazines such as Sasee, Long and Short Romance, Great Mystery and Suspense Magazine, and Horizon, as well as stories for the Chicken Soup for the Soul series. When not fighting with her cat Zoey for control of the computer keyboard, she is working at her ice cream shop or her bath and body shop.
Here’s a blurb from her most recent book, Acres of Dreams.
Nineteen-year-old Katy is sent  to Canada by her family in the late 1890's to find a suitable husband. Katy has other plans, however - she wants a career, not marriage.
During the round of social activities arranged by her sister, she is drawn against her will towards her distant cousin Robert, who loves Katy on sight. She has also attracted the attention of her brother-in-law's boss, Martin, who doesn't take rejection easily, evens the score by destroying Katy's reputation.
Facing a return home in disgrace, Katy tries another way out. She accepts the offer of marriage from Robert, who is on his way west to set up a homestead on the prairies.
Katy is not prepared for the loneliness and hardships she is about to face. She has a difficult journey ahead, learning to become a woman and a wife and discovering how to love.
For other great romances by Sharon, click on the links below to order from Amazon for only $0.99.
Autumn Dreams